An Answered Prayer Gives Light

For it is you who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness (Psalm 18:28 ESV).

An answered prayer – Yesterday as we changed trains in Germany, our daughter left her camera bag on a train.  The trains run on a schedule, and once the doors close, there is no getting back on the train.  She was devastated.  The train left and we asked a station attendant for help.  A ticket agent called ahead to have the conductor check our seats and retrieve the camera bag.  We navigated our way to the central station in Berlin to check whether the camera had been retrieved.

I began to pray.  I read this Bible verse and I prayed our daughter’s life verse, which is Psalm 73:25-26: “Whom have I in heaven but you?  …. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  I asked the Lord to return our camera, not because the camera is valuable – it’s stuff a thing, a temporary, passing luxury which, although expensive, could be replaced.  No, I prayed that God would return the camera because if it were lost, our daughter would be heartbroken that she had lost something entrusted to her care.

Yes, the camera was retrieved, and all is well.  Our God lightens our darkness (Psalm 18:28).  It is his glorious majesty to grant our requests and in so doing to show his incredible power.  God answers prayer and I trust this answered prayer will be a long-lasting testimony for our children.  The Lord understands our heartaches and our troubles.  Even the trivial matters or lost property can demonstrate God’s presence in our lives.

Today let the Lord lighten your darkness.  Know that he hears and answers prayer.  He is the one who lights our lamps and guides our way.  Look for God at work and you will see his hand everywhere.  Answered prayers are light in the midst of darkness.

For more light in times of darkness, visit the Daily Bible Verse page.

