Defeat Turned into Victory

Hear, O Lord, and be merciful to me! O Lord, be my helper! Psalm 30:10 ESV

David was at end of his rope, at his wits’ end, down to his last drop of hope.  He was expecting to die at the hand of his enemies (Psalm 30:1).  He was at the point of bargaining with God. David even asked the Lord, “What profit is there in my death” (Psa 30:9 ESV)?  He was preparing for defeat and death.

Then God rescued David.  Psalm 30 is the song of triumph which David sang at the dedication of the temple mount in Jerusalem after God rescued David.  The prayer of verse 10 (“Hear… and be merciful to me”) is followed immediately by the shout of victory in verse 11 (“You have turned for me my mourning into dancing”).  This is no song of defeat, despair or death.  It is a celebration song of the Lord’s marvelous mercy and gracious goodwill.

Has the Lord turned your defeat into victory?   Today, pray, “Hear, O Lord, and be merciful to me!  O Lord, be my help!”   Remember that God can and will turn mourning into dancing, sackcloth into gladness, and defeat into victory (Psa 30:11).  He has not forgotten you.  “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good for those who are called according to his purpose” (Rom 8:28 ESV).

